IFAJ Star Prize for Print

The Star Prize for Print recognizes the best agricultural writing of the year among journalists in IFAJ member countries.

Agricultural journalism guilds from member countries in good standing in the IFAJ are welcome to submit one entry from members of their guilds.
• Entries must be submitted by guilds, not by individual members.
• It is up to each member country to determine how it selects its entry.

Deadline: February 23, 2019
There is no entry fee.

To be eligible, the entry must:
• Be a story of broad agricultural interest.
• The story may be the work of more than one journalist.
• Have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2018.
• Be submitted in English. Articles written in other languages must be translated into English. (Translation assistance is available: see below.)
• Be a single story. Providing multiple pieces that make up a series is not permitted. In such a situation, select one story from the series to enter.

Deadline: February 23, 2019

The winner of the Star Prize for Print will be presented a trophy, and a cash prize of €500. The runner up will be awarded a certificate and a cash prize of €250.

The awards will be presented during the IFAJ Congress. Entrants need not be present to win—efforts will be made to establish an online presence by the winners.

A guild representative who is authorized to submit on behalf of the guild may fill out the current application form online, found on the IFAJ website. Submissions made with any outdated forms will not be accepted.
The following must also be included for the entry before the deadline;
● If the article was published in a language other than English, the entry must be accompanied by the complete translation. If translation into English, is not available, contact the IFAJ Global Office as soon as possible: IFAJ will arrange and pay for translation for a guild’s article entry and the translated version will be sent back to the Guild for review before it is sent to the judges.

Deadline: February 23, 2019

Writing will be judged on the following:

Style 25%

Content 50%

Objectivity/Balance 25%

The layout and design of the article will not be considered in the judging.

Lindi Botha of South Africa Wins IFAJ Star Prize for Print

Lindi Botha of South Africa was recognized by the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) with the Star Prize for Print, the organization’s honor for the best article in its worldwide competition

Finnish Journalist Wins IFAJ Star Prize for Print Award

Winners 2016

IFAJ John Deere Star Prize for Print

First Place
Laura Rance, Canada
Africa’s Hunger Games

Highly Commended
Matthew Cawood, Australia
“Simplifying towards complexity”

Winners 2015

IFAJ John Deere Star Prize for Print

First Place
John Morgan, New Zealand
Breeding the ideal Kiwi Romney

Highly Commended
Barbara Duckworth, Canada
“Do happy animals earn you more money?”

If you have any questions please contact the contest administrator using the form below.