Scroll Top

IFAJ Awards Star Prizes to the World’s Top Agricultural Reporters

Visit to view the winning entries.

The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) presented its Star Prize awards to print, broadcast, digital and photography journalists from around the world at the organization’s 2022 World Congress in Vingsted, Denmark, on June 27. The winners included:

  • Sue Neales of the Australian Council of Agricultural Journalists, Star Prize for Print, for “Milk Man,” a portrait of Barry Irvin in AgJournal.
  • Prince Appiah and Emmanuel Osei of the Ghana Agricultural and Rural Development Journalism Association, Star Prize for Video, for “Importance of Water to Crop Production” on Joy Business TV’s Food Chain.
  • David Widmar, Sarah Mock and Brent Glory of the Agricultural Communicators Network (USA), Star Prize for Audio, for “Ag Economic Insights” on the Escaping 1980 podcast from
  • David Ekstrom and Justin Davey of the Agricultural Communicators Network (USA), Star Prize for Digital Media, for “FFA is One Big Ohana” on FFA New Horizons website.

The Star Prize for Photography includes three category winners and an overall winner selected from among them. This year’s winners were:

  • Willem van der Berg of the Agricultural Writers Association of South Africa, Star Prize for Photography for “3000 Days of Drought” in Landbou Weekblad. “3000 Days of Drought” was also named first place in the People category.
  • Myrna Stark Leader of the Canadian Farm Writers Federation for “Night Moves” in Country Life in BC, and John Eveson of the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists, for “Belted Galloway Cattle in the Lake District” in Farmers Guardian, tied for first place in the Production category.
  • Joel Reichenberger of the Agricultural Communicators Network (USA) for “Storm Brewing” in Progressive Farmer, first place in the Nature/Landscape category.

“All the works received in the 2022 Star Prize contest have been excellent, and the work of the judges has not been easy,” said Adalberto Rossi, IFAJ secretary-general, who managed the contest and led the ceremony. “Every entrant receives feedback from the judges, and the winners can truly say with pride that they have produced the best agricultural journalism in the world.”

Rossi thanked the judges, who included John Morriss and Markus Rediger for the Print awards; Ian Petrie, Prue Adams and Ken Rundle for the Broadcast and digital categories; and Johnnie Belinda Cluff, Kurt Lawton and Janice Thoroughgood for the Photography awards. He also offered a special word of gratitude to Australia’s Leigh Radford, who coordinated the judging for the complicated Broadcast categories.

“Year after year, Leigh gives us all his experience and dedication, doing an excellent job,” Rossi said.

“The IFAJ Star Prize program is a wonderful way for journalists to challenge themselves, receive feedback from accomplished judges who are leaders in the industry, and compare their work with their colleagues’ around the world,” he added. “And for all of us in the federation, it is exciting and educational to see great reporting and photography.”