Scroll Top

Philippine guild elects new officers

By Matilde Maunahan, PAJ vice president for external affairs

The Philippine Agricultural Journalists, Inc. or PAJ recently elected a new set of officers following its recent general assembly, held at the Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA) Auditorium, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines.

csm_philippine_guild2014_a59177f882Elected president for the sixth time is Roman Floresca, business editor of The Philippine Star.  Other elected officers include Noel Reyes of the Department of Agriculture (DA), vice president for internal affairs; Matilde Maunahan of the University of the Philippines Los Baños, vice president for external affairs; Ma. Ruby Lumongsod of QUEDANCOR, secretary; Charisma Love Gado of the Philippine Rice Research Institute, assistant secretary; Inez Magbual of Best Media Source Corporation, treasurer; Thelma Tolentino of the PCA, auditor; Ray Eñano of Manila Standard Today, press relations officer (PRO) for print media; and Rolando Gonzalo of UNTV and DWIZ, PRO for broadcast media.

Elected directors are Rex Navarro of CGIAR-CCAFS-SEA; Melba Wee, DA-Zamboanga; Corazon Abio, National Food Authority; Francisco de Guzman, Opinyon; Melody Aguiba, Manila Bulletin; Ma. Aileen Garcia, International Rice Research Institute; and Angelina Resurreccion, Business Mirror.

csm_philippine_guild_5f98d42dd3According to PAJ President Floresca, the new leadership will revive such projects as the PAJ Forum and the BINHI Awards for Agricultural Journalism.

A non-stock, non-profit professional organization of agriculture editors and reporters from the print and broadcast media, as well as information writers from government and private agencies involved in agriculture, PAJ was established on September 10, 1976.  It is the second oldest organization of writers in the Philippines, next only to the National Press Club.

You can follow the Philippine Agricultural Journalists on Facebook.

Related Posts