Scroll Top

IFAJ-Alltech Young Leaders

The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) named 10 outstanding young agricultural journalists to receive the IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders Award. The awards will be presented at IFAJ’s global congress near Pretoria, South Africa, next month.

The award winners include:

Tom Bicknell of Australia

Kizito Cudjoe of Ghana

Melanie Jenkins of Great Britain

Philip Keitany of Kenya

Rachel Martin of Ireland

Matthias Schulze Steinmann of Germany

Jessie Scott of the United States

Maria Törner of Sweden

Taskina Yeasmin of Bangladesh

Eva Zitz of Austria

IFAJ-Alltech Young Leaders Germany

“These 10 outstanding young men and women have already demonstrated their skills as journalists, and they are poised to become leaders in their national agricultural journalism guilds in the years to come,” says Owen Roberts, IFAJ president. “The Young Leaders award is a recognition of their accomplishments and an opportunity to engage in professional development, leadership training and global networking that will allow them to reach new heights.”

Roberts notes that the Young Leader award includes participation in a two-day professional development workshop immediately prior to the IFAJ congress. The program, sponsored by Alltech, a global animal nutrition and crop science company, emphasizes reporting skills and leadership training.

“Each year Alltech has the chance to support 10 young journalists from around the globe as they strengthen their skill set and grow in the field of agricultural journalism,” says Tracey Flinter, European communications manager, Alltech. “We look forward to continuing our partnership with IFAJ to encourage young journalists in their professional development as they contribute to the global development of the agriculture industry.”

For more information on IFAJ and the Young Leaders program, visit For more on Alltech, visit

Related Posts